Playing With Origami

I happened to go by Hobby Lobby today. While perusing the aisles, my eye was suddenly caught by the sight of origami. I’ve always been fascinated by the art of folding paper into interesting shapes. My interest was furthered sparked when a Japanese exchange student in my high school would bring origami paper and teach my fellow classmates and how to make the classic origami paper crane. Mine would normally end up being somewhat lumpy and misshapen, but I found the attempt enjoyable.

So, for the price of $5 (okay, I’m over-reporting, $4.99) plus tax, I walked out of the store with my prize. Since then, I’ve been having fun trying out to fold the different shapes I found on origami club. Some of the designs I’ve tried are the following (the pics are from the site, I’ll post some of my personal design pictures later):

  • Traditional samurai hat
  •  Paper fan
  •  Pencil

Some of the designs that I’m hoping to attempt in the next week are the following: 

  •  Balloon rabbit
  • Origami dolls
Leave a Reply

