On Trying One of the World’s Hottest Peppers

 

The pepper Bhut Jolokia, more commonly known as a ghost pepper, looks like a fairly innocent pepper at first glance. However, this plant which originally hails from northern India, packs a huge spicy punch. The Guinness Book of World records declared the chili the spiciest pepper in the world in 2007 at 401.5 times hotter than Tabasco sauce. Plans are in progress to make the pepper into a hand grenade used for non-lethal crowd control.

So you can only imagine the spicy pain the surging through my mouth upon eating one of these peppers whole this past weekend. Upon initially chewing up and swallowing, I couldn’t particularly detect any hint of hot. However, the pepper soon was so hot that I couldn’t even really taste the spicy. Instead, my mouth was lit up in fiery pain. My eyes began to water and my face grew red and flushed from the pain even as I swished milk around in my mouth as much as I could.

However, I was able to withstand and push through the pain mentally. The worst part of the experience ended up being the immense stomach ache which I suffered from the day after. Though I was warned that trying such a hot thing was stupid by numerous friends, I don’t regret the experience. However, you won’t find me doing it again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

