Finally Setting Up the Blog

Having initially started my blog and set up my domain name about a month ago, I’m finally getting to edit and create my first post.

Creating the first post of a blog or website is always hard for me. Do I go off on a tangent about lofty goals for the blog that will likely remain unfulfilled when I get busy with school and work? Do I launch directly into a content post, like the ones that have been randomly floating past me in the past month as good topics to blog about? Or do I simply leave the site unpopulated as a I sway back and forth with indecision on how to start the site off on the right footing?

I’m going to avoid both of those path here and instead talk about the process of setting up this blog. When I’ve blogged heavily in the past (with the past being nearly 4 years ago when blogging was the new hot thing, just making its way onto the scene), Blogger served my needs rather well. With no experience with design at that point, I found Blogger to be a comfortable place quickly set up a theme and get moving with publishing content.

Moving forward and with the recommendations of a number of my friends, I’ve decided to give WordPress a try. I’ve set up my blog on wordpress.com at the moment just to try out the WordPress format. If I find myself blogging consistently, I’ll likely upgrade to a regular WordPress blog that will support considerably more functionality such as add-ons.

Choosing my theme for the blog, I ended up settling on the Coraline theme that wordpress.com provides. Overall, I like the clean aesthetic of the format. I populated the header with an image that I found while trawling through while on FreeWebPageHeaders. I specifically chose the image Fantasy Tree because of the whimsical tone and the fact that it has a stream which I think complements a blog with ‘stream’ in its name. Yes, quite clever, I know.

The blog is set up to my satisfaction at the moment, though tweaks will likely occur in the future.

Leave a Reply

